Using Drumagog 3.0.4 via midi with BFD-some questions

Moderators: Rim, Corey W

animix

Using Drumagog 3.0.4 via midi with BFD-some questions

Post by animix »

This is my first attempt at this so I will itemize the procedure I'm using and the related questions/problems I have.

First of all, I am using Cubase SX 3.1.994 as my host audio application. I have 11 individual drum tracks in the project. there are two mics on kick, two mics on snare, OHL, OHR, hihat, floor tom, ride tom and a L & R pair of room mics.

I am sending each of these tracks out of Cubase SX to a digital mixer for summing OTB so there are 56 ADAT outputs feeding the mixer from Cubase SX and the particular kick tracks I'm wanting to replace with BFD samples are being output to ADAT 1 & 2 of an RME HDSP 9652. The latency between Cubase SX and the mixer is 2 samples. The mixer is outputting digitally to a Benchmark DAC-1.

What I want to try initially is to replace the kick drum tracks with BFD kick samples.

1. I add a pair of midi tracks to the project (one for each kick track)

2. I install "BFD All" in the project as a VSTi and set the kick track in BFD to output to the same ADAT 1 & 2 that the original kick tracks are using for audio output to the mixer.

3. The Drumagog settings on page 1 are set to the default.

4. The Samples page is blank. Since Drumagog seems to need something in here to use to trigger, even in midi mode, I add a .gog sample to give it something to use. I would like to use a sample from the track but the "Add From Track" function does not bring up the subsequent box that should allow Drumagog to "Listen" and then add the original samples. Since I will only be wanting to monitor the BFD samples anyway, this isn't really critical, but it's worth noting.

5. The Advanced page is set to output midi with Drumagog and BFD using channel 10 (I can't see channel 10 in Drumagog-a situation previously noted in other threads on this forum-so I count to 10 and it works fine :wink: )