recording: midi with a-cymbals

Moderators: Rim, Corey W

Dimorph

recording: midi with a-cymbals

Post by Dimorph »

hey there,

i'm pretty new to drumagog and sound replacement.
my question does not necesarily deal with drumagog itself but the midi recording.

my plan is to trigger an acoustic set via midi, replace the snare, kick and toms with samples and record the cymbals as they are. that means the cymbals sound should be captured with overheads.

now, how do i approach this?
first of all, i'll always have the acoustic kit sound on my cymbal tracks. secondly, will i get synchronization problems between the midi (latency) tracks and the overhead tracks?

i hope you know what i mean.
is this a very common way to record, or is there anything better you can suggest?

thanks in advance
zumbido
Expert

Post by zumbido »

"... my plan is to trigger an acoustic set via midi, ..."

Not sure what you mean here.

Do you have triggers ON your acoustic kit instead of mics? And mics on the overheads and hihat?

With triggers or mics, this is easy enough.

I record full drumkits with mics (not triggers) and can successfully totally replace kick, snare and toms while retaining the original mic'd hihat and overheads (with the usual bleed from the drums) without any timing/latency issues. Retaining the hihat and overheads is really a good thing to 'authenticate' the overall drum sound.

I would assume triggers would work as well.

Since Drumagog Platinum, I've abandoned the MIDI technique.

However, you should be able to simply load gog samples (or even aif or wav samples) into each instance of Drumagog for each drum to be replaced.

And, in your case (assumming the trigger method) you'll be utilizing Drumagog via MIDI instead of audio. This set up on the 'Advanced' page.

With Drumagog at the level it is currently at, you can get away with really cheapo mics, since all you require is an impulse. And this is exactly what the triggers are providing.