newbie here just finding out about drumagog. :)

Moderators: Rim, Corey W

tempest1226

newbie here just finding out about drumagog. :)

Post by tempest1226 »

hey everyone. Ok you'll have to forgive me but i have some questions about how drumagog works. Total newb at recording and triggering.

1. could i use drumagog with ddrum triggers with an acoustic kit and trigger all the drums into the recording device.

2. can i find, make, and/or buy (stevens for ex.) single hit drums (kicks, snares, cymbals, etc. and make them into samples and use them samples in a midi session and create a whole drums track with them. Kind of the same concept as if you just got a drum machine and penciled in on the midi grid in a protools session all the drums.

Basically let me tell you what im working for and hopefully someone can tell me if im crazy and it will never work, or its easily capable.

I dont have the best place to record. Im younger, living at home and have my recording stuff in my room with an acoustic kit crammed in there. So what im looking to do. Is use drum triggers so my drummer can play his acoustic kit but have it so that thenotes actually going onto the recording session (being triggered) are midi notes on a grid. Or something of that concept. THis is so that i dont have to worry aboutmicing. ANd the ulitmate would be if i could have him play the acoustic kit and have pre mixed samples like stevens, actually being the notes/hits being recorded. Even if it took a lot of time. Im looking for any way of doing this and a explanation of how this process would work from start to end just so i get a better understanding of it. If it is even possible. Sorry about my choice of words. Im really new to this so an explanation would be awesome. Thank you so much for your time everyone.
zumbido
Expert

Post by zumbido »

Drumagog will do what you are asking.

Record each trigger into it's own audio track - one each for kick, snare and toms.