Sound Altering....

Moderators: Rim, Corey W

peachfuzzstudios

Sound Altering....

Post by peachfuzzstudios »

I just purchased Drumagog this week and have been reading the manual when i can. Im very new to it. I shouldnt even be posting this until i spend some more time on it but none the less.

My initial intent for drumagog was to create samples that i had recorded.

For instance, I wanted to sample a drummer's kick and then save gog, and load into drumagog.

I have used the Add from Track, and Add from File feature. The sound that i had previously recorded is NOT the sound that now plays back when the drum is triggered. Its the sample, but seemingly EQ'd differently (in a not good way) What am i doing wrong?

Im probably missing something terribly small, but i figured i would have it answered here if possible.

Thankyou so much for your time.
Matt W
Expert

Post by Matt W »

I'm sure exactly what is happening, but Drumagog shouldn't alter the sound when it samples a track, or you add saved sample files into a Gog file. Check the "blend" knob and check it at 100% to make sure you are only hearing the new sample by itself, in case the old and new samples don't sound good together.

Also make sure you aren't using the built-in synth, which has some filtering options which will affect the sound of Drumagog.

Otherwise, try Drumagog by itself in a project without any other tracks or plugins, and manually trigger the samples by clicking on the video. This way you can be sure to hear the samples without anything interfering.
Matthew Werner
WaveMachine Labs, Inc.
www.drumagog.com
peachfuzzstudios

I really appreciate your response Matthew.

Unfortunately all of those changes have been made. And yet it still is providing a less than flattering form of the sampled piece.

There is a ton of low end missing and it produces a high mid range bump probably around 800 hz. (a bump is an understatement). like i said. just very unflattering.